Virginia Racing Commission

MINUTES

OF THE

COMMISSION MEETING

December 6, 2023

Colonial Downs Horsemen's Building 10700 Horsemens Road New Kent, VA 23124

In Attendance

Commission Members:

Stephanie B. Nixon, Chair Marsha K. Hudgins, Vice Chair Stuart Siegel John F. Tanner Jr. Bette Brand

Commission Staff:

David S. Lermond, Jr., Executive Secretary
Kimberly C. Mackey, Director of Operations
Rhonda F. Davis, Pari-Mutuels and Licensing
Dr. Ada Caruthers, Equine Medical Director
Dr. Yolanda Lopez, Commission Veterinarian
Israel Saavedra, Commission Investigator
Joe Rudisill, Historical Horse Racing Compliance Specialist

Attorney General's Office:

Elizabeth B. Myers, Esquire

At 11:01 a.m., Chair Nixon called the monthly meeting of the Virginia Racing Commission (VRC) to order. Vice Chair Hudgins was not present at the beginning of the meeting.

Commissioner Siegel moved to approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on August 17, 2023. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Tanner and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Siegel moved to approve the Significant Infrastructure Limited License including Thoroughbred Race Days for 2024 submitted by Colonial Downs Group, LLC, including the conditions set forth in the staff report. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Vice Chair Hudgins moved to approve the License applications submitted by Colonial Downs Group, LLC to Conduct Pari-Mutuel Wagering on Historical Horse Racing at Rosie's – New Kent, Rosie's – Richmond, Rosie's – Vinton, Rosie's – Hampton, Rosie's – Dumfries, Rosie's – Collinsville, and Rosie's - Emporia for 2024 with the conditions set forth in the staff reports. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Chair Nixon moved to approve the Thoroughbred Horsemen's contract for 2024 – 2025. The motion was seconded by Vice Chair Hudgins and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Brand moved to approve the VHBPA's Withdrawal of Administrative Costs from the Horsemen's Purse Account for 2024 in the amount of \$370,000. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Tanner and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Vice Chair Hudgins moved to approve a Limited License for Shenandoah County Agricultural Foundation for Spring 2024 at Shenandoah Downs with the conditions set forth in the staff report. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Tanner and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Vice Chair Hudgins moved to approve the racing officials at Shenandoah Downs for 2024 and to grant the Executive Secretary the authority to approve any subsequent changes on behalf of the Commission. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Tanner and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Brand moved to approve the 2024 Advance Deposit Wagering (ADW) renewal license applications submitted by Twinspires, TVG, Xpressbet, and NYRAbets with the two conditions requested by the Executive Secretary. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Tanner and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Tanner moved to approve the VEA operating budget for 2024. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, abstain; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Tanner moved to approve the VTA breeders fund administration budget for 2024. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Tanner moved to approve Breeder Awards in the amount of \$1,850,000 and Stallion Awards in the amount of \$150,000 from the Thoroughbred portion of the Virginia Breeders Fund related to 2023. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Vice Chair Hudgins moved to approve the designation of races used in determining Thoroughbred Breeder and Stallion Awards beginning in 2024. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Siegel and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Brand moved to approve the VHHA breeders fund administration budget for 2024. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Tanner and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Vice Chair Hudgins moved to approve the VHHA benevolence budget for 2024. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Tanner and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

The Executive Vice President of Victor-Strategies, Gene Johnson presented a draft report on the independent study of the 2022 JLARC report and HHR wagering regulated by the Virginia Racing Commission.

Frank Petramalo formally introduced Glen Berman as the new Executive Director for the VHBPA.

The next meeting is scheduled for February 27, 2024, at 11:00 a.m.

With no further business set forth on the agenda, the meeting was adjourned at 1:25 p.m.